Bleak House Season 1 Episodes

Find out where to watch Season 1 of Bleak House tonight

Season 1 Episode Guide

Episode 1 - Episode 1

Alone in the world after the death of her aunt, Esther Summerson is brought to the High Court of Chancery by Mr Guppy, clerk to Mr Kenge, one of the lawyers in the infamous suit of Jarndyce and Jarndyce, a complicated case which has already taken years and brought nothing but ruin and despair to all it touches. Guppy mistakenly thinks that Esther may have a claim to the Jarndyce fortune, but she is there for the Judge to decide whether she will be a suitable companion for Ada Clare, one of the two Wards of Court in the case.


Episode 2 - Episode 2

Tulkinghorn and Krook call out the doctor, Allan Woodcourt, who suspects that Nemo’s death was caused by an accidental overdose of opium. The coroner confirms as much. Nemo is given a pauper's funeral - and at the gloomy burial ground Tulkinghorn interrogates a young crossing-sweeper, named only Jo, whom Nemo had befriended. He is convinced Jo knows something.


Episode 3 - Episode 3

Ada confides in Esther that she and Richard are in love. They wish to get engaged but Jarndyce disapproves and tells them it's far too soon to take this step. Reluctantly, the pair agree to wait. Caddy Jellyby, on the other hand, has entered into a secret engagement with Prince Turveydrop, the son of a dancing master. His father is a lazy self-centred old man who preens around, showing off his deportment, whilst his son does all the work. Richard is failing in his medical studies, and decides to quit in favour of the law. It's the worst option he could have chosen, particularly since it marks his increasing obsession with Chancery.