Oprah’s Book Club Season 1 Episodes

Find out where to watch Season 1 of Oprah’s Book Club tonight

Season 1 Episode Guide

Episode 1 - Ta-Nehisi Coates: The Water Dancer

Oprah and Ta-Nehisi discuss the 10-year process of writing his #1 best-selling debut novel and the cultural conversation it has provoked. Plus, Ta-Nehisi visits Monticello, which inspired his book’s setting.


Episode 2 - Elizabeth Strout: Olive, Again

Elizabeth tells Oprah how her celebrated protagonist reappeared and why she finds the everydayness of life to be extraordinary.


Episode 3 - Jeanine Cummins: American Dirt, Part 1

Jeanine and Oprah are joined by authors Reyna Grande, Julissa Arce, and Esther Cepeda for a raw, revealing conversation about the novel.


Episode 4 - Jeanine Cummins: American Dirt, Part 2

Latinx people who saw themselves reflected in the book share insights into real-life migrant experiences.


Episode 5 - Robert Kolker: Hidden Valley Road

Oprah has in-depth discussions with author Kolker and surviving members of the Galvin family about living this extraordinary true story.


Episode 6 - James McBride: Deacon King Kong

Oprah and McBride discuss how his novel speaks to the current moment, his focus on the Black experience, and the inspiration for his characters.


Episode 7 - Isabel Wilkerson: Caste

Calling the book ”a must-read for all of humanity,” Oprah asks Wilkerson what compelled her to write it and why we need a new language for race.


Episode 8 - Marilynne Robinson: Gilead

Oprah talks to Robinson about her Pulitzer Prize-winning second novel, finding the character of John Ames, and how faith shapes her writing.


Episode 9 - Marilynne Robinson: Home

Robinson explains what inspired her to revisit the story of Gilead from different points of view and why she chose to address the subject of race.


Episode 10 - Marilynne Robinson: Lila

Oprah and Robinson discuss finding new layers in established characters, what America looks like at its best, and how loneliness can be a privilege.


Episode 11 - Marilynne Robinson: Jack

Discussing the fourth Gilead novel, Robinson opens up about its interracial romance, her writing process, and the possibility of more stories.


Episode 12 - Nathan Harris: The Sweetness of Water

Oprah sits down with Harris to discuss his debut novel's inspiration, his writing process, and how a biracial upbringing shaped his point of view.



Season 1

More movies and TV shows at the American TV Listings Guide..


In order to keep our service free we display advertising and may earn affiliate fees for purchases you make on external sites that we partner with.
All content is © 2023 On TV Tonight unless pertaining to advertisers, companies, studios, movies and TV series listed on this site.